Perception of Our Beloved Pole

Kristina was kind enough to let me share a paper she wrote about pole dancing, perception and her own feelings on starting pole.  It is so true that every one of us had the negative stigma attached to it.  it is up to each one of us to change that.  ❤

 

An experience I am thankful to have been a part of, led me to a skill, a skill that in turn has impressed an idea on me.  The experience, which led to a skill, which led to a new perspective that has gifted me with a heightened awareness is –pole dancing.  Typically the first thing that pops into people’s mind, like flashbulb imagery is a dark room, clouded with smoke as a fluorescent lights strains to illuminate a stage.  A stage, which hosts a variety of “down and out” women, showcasing their promiscuous style of “dance,” said entertainment.  In this reflection paper, I urge you to consider adopting a new perspective on this stereotype, which harbors mostly ill associations.  Pole dancing made me a better person inside and out. I took my first class with a slight heir of ambivalence, and had certainty not planned on ever going back.  I too, was guilty of the negative associations with pole dancing, thinking it was something that had only ever been glamorized in an episode or two of the HBO mafia series –The Sopranos.  Not exactly something I intended to strive for.  I had paid for the class, so I figured I might as well get the most for my money.  To my surprise, it did not take me long to start to warm up to the environment.  In fact, it was easy.  The studio where I was taking the class presented itself in such a laid back style, where nobody was judging anyone.  Everyone seemed very focused and intent on mastering their newest tricks, while the teachers and other girls support motivated them. They encourage you to try your best in a non-abrasive manner, which has led me to change my mindset so that I try to do my best at everything! This relates to college just as much as it does pole dancing. I have excelled in my studies and really do try my hardest at everything now, whether its writing an 8 page paper about artists I have never heard of before or doing an inversion trick that pains my skin but makes me stronger at the same time. I discuss this with peers and whenever they themself or someone else puts them down, I remember what I learned in class “Try your best at everything and have respect for yourself and everyone around you.” One of my favorite quotes that I think about every day and that I try hard to live by is “It’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.” My grandfather, who unfortunately is no longer with us, used to have this on his business card way back in the day. Now it resonates in my head and reminds me to not judge a book by its cover but by its contents and eagerness to be printed instead.

4 responses

  1. Great read Kristina. I enjoyed what you wrote. The only difference for me was that after my first class, I knew I was coming right back. I was hooked. I have had lots of growth myself and I credit the great instructors and pole. It makes one to have inner growth and self-awareness. My experience with my instructors and the pole classes has been priceless. Thank you everyone including myself. Love, Heidi

  2. I’m so glad to read this essay! I have taught pole dance classes and this is often what I encounter. It’s so hard to battle the negative stereotypes and even convince a woman to give it try. “It’ll be fun, and you’ll find confidence, and strength!” It never seems to be true to someone who hasn’t tried it yet. I think I too will write on this topic for a future post. You’ve inspired me. Thanks! :o)

Leave a Reply

